BIRKE GORM

dead stock

Wed, 1.2.2023—Sun, 25.6.2023

MAK – Museum of Applied Arts

Collecting archaic, easily accessible, often accidentally found material such as jute, terracotta, wood, and metal is characteristic of the work of Birke Gorm (born 1986 in Hamburg). Her sculptures convey a raw, appealing immediacy whose multilayered levels of meaning can be decoded upon closer inspection. She places the autonomy of the material in relation to historically traditional techniques and the associated distribution of gender roles. She combines the archaic with the aesthetics of the digital using current topics such as work, self-optimization, and social processes. 
Curator: Marlies Wirth, Curator, Digital Culture and MAK Design Collection
 

Program (2 Events)

Tue, 31.1.2023 7 pm9 pm

Exhibition Openings Birke Gorm / Folds / Entangled Relations – Animated Bodies

Fri, 24.2.2023 4.30 pm5.30 pm

Dialogue Tour with Artist Birke Gorm

and Curator Marlies Wirth
Dialogue Tour with Artist Birke Gorm
Collecting archaic, easily accessible, often accidentally found material such as jute, terracotta, wood, and metal is characteristic of the work of Birke Gorm (born 1986 in Hamburg). Her sculptures convey a raw, appealing immediacy whose multilayered levels of meaning can be decoded upon closer inspection. She places the autonomy of the material in relation to historically traditional techniques and the associated distribution of gender roles. She combines the archaic with the aesthetics of the digital using current topics such as work, self-optimization, and social processes. 
 
Curator: Marlies Wirth, Curator, Digital Culture and MAK Design Collection

Language: The tour is held in German.
 
Tour fee: € 3.50 + admission to the museum
Meeting point: MAK Columned Main Hall
No registration necessary
 
Headphones: an audio system may be used for the tour. In the interest of sustainability, please provide your own (3.5 mm standard connector) headphones if possible. Alternatively, you can also buy headphones for € 1 at the Ticket Desk.
1459977553881
+


Media

Birke Gorm, how to do anything
Exhibition view Galerie der Stadt Schwaz, 2018
© Galerie der Stadt Schwaz
 
Birke Gorm, common crazies
Exhibition view Croy Nielsen, Vienna, 2020
© kunst-dokumentation.com
 
Birke Gorm, loaf of meat (3989g), 2020
Terracotta brick, terracotta pebbles, grains of wheat, fabric, metal scraps 
© kunst-dokumentation.com
 
Exhibition view Croy Nielsen, SPARK Art Fair, Vienna, 2021
Courtesy Croy Nielsen, Vienna
© kunst-dokumentation.com
 
Birke Gorm, huswif (TREE), 2021
Jute, metal scraps 
© kunst-dokumentation.com
 
Exhibition view full stop, Politikens Forhal, Copenhagen, 2021
© Malle Madsen
 
Exhibition view, full stop, Politikens Forhal, Copenhagen, 2021
© Malle Madsen

BIRKE GORM

dead stock

Mi, 1.2.2023—So, 25.6.2023

MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst

Das Sammeln von archaischem, leicht zugänglichem, oft zufällig gefundenem Material wie Jute, Terrakotta, Holz oder Metall ist Charakteristikum des Werks der Künstlerin Birke Gorm (geb. 1986 in Hamburg). Ihre Skulpturen vermitteln eine rohe, anziehende Unmittelbarkeit, deren vielschichtige Bedeutungsebenen sich in der näheren Betrachtung dekodieren. Die Autonomie des Materials setzt sie ins Verhältnis zu historisch tradierten Techniken und damit verknüpften Verteilungen von Geschlechterrollen. Das Archaische verbindet sie mit der Ästhetik des Digitalen rund um aktuelle Themen wie Arbeit, Selbstoptimierung und gesellschaftliche Prozesse. 
Kuratorin: Marlies Wirth, Kuratorin Digitale Kultur, Kustodin MAK-Sammlung Design
 

Programm (2 Veranstaltungen)

Di, 31.1.2023 19 Uhr21 Uhr

Ausstellungseröffnungen Birke Gorm / Falten / Entangled Relations – Animated Bodies

Fr, 24.2.2023 16.30 Uhr17.30 Uhr

Dialogführung mit Künstlerin Birke Gorm

und Kuratorin Marlies Wirth
Dialogführung mit Künstlerin Birke Gorm
Das Sammeln von archaischem, leicht zugänglichem, oft zufällig gefundenem Material wie Jute, Terrakotta, Holz oder Metall ist Charakteristikum des Werks der Künstlerin Birke Gorm (geb. 1986 in Hamburg). Ihre Skulpturen vermitteln eine rohe, anziehende Unmittelbarkeit, deren vielschichtige Bedeutungsebenen sich in der näheren Betrachtung dekodieren. Die Autonomie des Materials setzt sie ins Verhältnis zu historisch tradierten Techniken und damit verknüpften Verteilungen von Geschlechterrollen. Das Archaische verbindet sie mit der Ästhetik des Digitalen rund um aktuelle Themen wie Arbeit, Selbstoptimierung und gesellschaftliche Prozesse.
 
Kuratorin: Marlies Wirth, Kuratorin Digitale Kultur, Kustodin MAK-Sammlung Design

Führungsbeitrag: € 3,50 zzgl. Eintritt
Treffpunkt: MAK Säulenhalle
Keine Anmeldung erforderlich.
 
Kopfhörer: In der Führung kommt möglicherweise ein Audiosystem zum Einsatz. Bitte nehmen Sie nach Möglichkeit im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit Ihre eigenen Kopfhörer (3,5mm-Standard Anschluss) mit. Alternativ können Sie Kopfhörer um € 1 an der Kassa erwerben.

1459977553881
+


Medien

Birke Gorm, how to do anything
Ausstellungsansicht Galerie der Stadt Schwaz, 2018
© Galerie der Stadt Schwaz
 
Birke Gorm, common crazies
Ausstellungsansicht Croy Nielsen, Wien, 2020
© kunst-dokumentation.com
 
Birke Gorm, loaf of meat (3989g), 2020
Terracotta-Ziegel, Terracotta-Kiesel, Weizenkörner, Stoff, Metallstücke
© kunst-dokumentation.com
 
Ausstellungsansicht Croy Nielsen, SPARK Art Fair, Wien, 2021
Courtesy Croy Nielsen, Vienna
© kunst-dokumentation.com
 
Birke Gorm, huswif (TREE), 2021
Jute, Metallstücke
© kunst-dokumentation.com
 
Ausstellungsansicht full stop, Politikens Forhal, Kopenhagen, 2021
© Malle Madsen
 
Ausstellungsansicht, full stop, Politikens Forhal, Kopenhagen, 2021
© Malle Madsen