The MAK FUTURE LAB is a creative laboratory founded by the MAK – Museum of Applied Arts. Through workshops, lectures, panel discussions, and other formats the MAK FUTURE LAB generates interdisciplinary contributions to a humane shaping and utilization of Digital Modernity. It positions design, architecture, and fine art as driving forces of socially, ecologically, culturally, and economically sustainable market economy models. Through diverse cooperations, it networks these creative sectors with the fields of science, research, business, and politics. The MAK FUTURE LAB aspires to develop both holistic orientation models and strategies for the commons inspired by such models, as well as concrete, innovative business ideas for the future.

Adrien Missika
MAK FUTURE LAB

Adrien Missika

UNKRAUTPFLEGE [Weed Care]
iCalTue, 29.06.2021 6.30 pm

MAK – Museum of Applied Arts

Adrien Missika
Keynote and collective action by and with Adrien Missika

Bring your own watering can!

MAK Lecture Hall and Wotruba Promenade 

With his “Unkrautpflege [Weed Care]” project, in 2018 artist Adrien Missika initiated a three-part work that draws our attention to spontaneously growing, often overlooked, vegetation in the urban landscape, thus sharpening our awareness of the city’s biodiversity.

Take a watering can
Fill it with water
Go out on the street
Walk down one way
WATER ALL THIRSTY WEEDS
Refill the can wherever possible
Go on until tired or hungry

With these simple instructions, Misska offers an artistic approach to climate protection and at the same time appeals to each one of us to play an active role.

After explaining his artistic praxis in a keynote address in the MAK Lecture Hall, Missika invites all visitors to devote their full attention to neglected plants along the city’s sidewalks and housefronts and to share their experiences on social media under #unkrautpflege. The starting point is the Wotrubapromenade by the Stubenbrücke, directly behind the MAK.

The video documentation of Unkrautpflege (2018-ongoing; action first performed by the artist in Berlin, 4K color video, sound, 7:06 min.) as well as subsequent actions: Cura (2019-ongoing; action first performed by the artist in Mexico City, Mexico; HD video, sound, 5:56 min.) and Pioneer’s Treat (2020-ongoing; first performed by the artist in 2020 in Lisbon, Portugal, 4K color video, sound, 7:22 min., courtesy Galeria Francisco Fino, Lisbon, & Proyectos Monclova, Mexico City) may be seen as a three-part installation in the VIENNA BIENNALE exhibition CLIMATE CARE: Reimagining Shared Planetary Futures in the MAK Exhibition Hall.


 
 
 
 
DIGITAL & CIRCULAR: LEARNING AND LIVING CIRCULAR SOCIETY
MAK FUTURE LAB

DIGITAL & CIRCULAR: LEARNING AND LIVING CIRCULAR SOCIETY

iCalTue, 22.06.2021 7.00 pm

MAK – Museum of Applied Arts

DIGITAL & CIRCULAR: LEARNING AND LIVING CIRCULAR SOCIETY
Panel discussion in the MAK Lecture Hall
Registration required, free admission 
The 3G rule must be met for entry:
Vaccinated, Tested, Recovered.

A FFP2 mask must be worn during the entire visit to the museum, and a distance of one meter maintained between people who do not live in the same household.
Entrance: Weiskirchnerstraße 3 (opposite Stadtpark) 

If you can't make it to the event in person, participation from home on Tuesday: click here for the Live-Stream (available from Tuesday, no need to register for the Live-Stream)


Against the background of the exhibition DIGITAL & CIRCULAR, the MAK has organized a MAK FUTURE LAB to debate approaches for a digitally supported transformation towards circular society. A top-class panel will discuss, among others, the following questions: Which primary systemic change is needed for a circular society? How can we prevent the great transformation of economy and society from leading to an enormous additional accumulation of material? In which areas would circular economy be particularly important? Which would be the three most urgent digital innovations to lend key importance to biological and technical cycles? How can we accelerate the transition from glass consumers to transparent cycle-oriented companies by means of digital innovations? How can we as a society learn circular thinking in the best and fastest way? How can we live circular society in everyday life and how should human-machine-interfaces be designed to optimally use the power of innovation for this purpose?
 
Verena Fuchsberger-Staufer (University Salzburg)
Martin Grödl (Process – Studio for Art and Design)
Helmut Haberl (BOKU Vienna)
Lotte Kristoferitsch (EOOS NEXT)
Christian Schienerl (Schienerl Design / Art Direction)
Michael Strugl (Verbund)
 
Moderation: Christoph Thun-Hohenstein (MAK)
 

Sponsor

Logo BMK


Cooperation Partner

Logo VerbundLogo Wienerberger
 

CANCELLED | AI Ethics
MAK FUTURE LAB

CANCELLED | AI Ethics

Book Presentation and Conversation with Mark Coeckelbergh, Philosopher of Technology
iCalTue, 03.11.2020 7.00 pm

MAK – Museum of Applied Arts

CANCELLED | AI Ethics
Artificial intelligence (AI) powers Google’s search engine, enables Facebook to target advertising, and allows Alexa and Siri to do their jobs. AI is also what self-driving cars, predictive policing, and autonomous weapons, which can kill without human intervention, are based on. These and other AI applications raise complex ethical issues that are the subject of ongoing debate. 
 
With his book AI Ethics (published in the MIT Press Essential Knowledge series in 2020), Mark Coeckelbergh, philosopher of technology, offers a tangible synthesis of these issues. AI Ethics goes beyond the usual hype and nightmare scenarios and focuses on machine learning and data science. 
 
Coeckelbergh offers an overview of important ethical issues, including privacy concerns, responsibility, the delegation of decision making, transparency, and biases that arise in all phases of data science processes. He also contemplates the future of work in an AI economy. Finally, he analyzes current applications of AI in the political sphere and discusses challenges for policymakers. He argues for ethical practices that already embed values in design and include a democratic vision of “the good life” in a fair society.
 
In the MAK FUTURE Lab, Coeckelbergh will present his most important theses and discuss AI and ethics, global governance of AI and global crises and the potentials of AI and climate with the audience.

Moderated by Marlies Wirth
In English
____

 
Mark Coeckelbergh is Vicedean and a full Professor of Philosophy of Media and Technology at the Philosophy of Department of the University of Vienna. He is currently a member of various entities that support policy building in the area of robotics and artificial intelligence, such as the European Commission’s High Level Expert Group on Artificial Intelligence and the Austrian Council on Robotics and Artificial Intelligence. 
 
Smartphone—the spy in my pocket?
MAK FUTURE LAB

Smartphone—the spy in my pocket?

Book presentation and fishbowl conversation with Helmut Spudich
iCalTue, 15.09.2020 7.30 pm 9.00 pm

MAK – Museum of Applied Arts

Smartphone—the spy in my pocket?
The smartphone may be the “prosthesis” that has contributed most to changing the human being. The intelligent mini-computer is our constant companion—and it knows everything about us: whereabouts, contacts, photos, screen time, steps, passwords, preferences, consumer desires, fingerprints, and biometric data. 
 
Everybody is talking about the “corona app” and contact tracing, as well as the popular App TikTok, the western version of the Chinese App Douyin, which could even be banned in the USA. Combined with facial recognition and artificial intelligence, the app for self-expression in short videos becomes a powerful surveillance tool. Do we even still have “privacy”? And what actually happens with our data?
 
Together with the audience and the author Helmut Spudich, we will discuss the smartphone and its consequences for the surveillance society.
 
In his book Der Spion in meiner Tasche. Was das Handy mit uns macht und wie wir es trotzdem benutzen können [The spy in my pocket: What the cell phone does with us and how we can nonetheless still use it] (edition a, 2020), the one-time head of communications of the telecommunications company Magenta Telekom (formerly T-Mobile) Spudich engages in the discourse on surveillance with astonishing insider information and careful research. He shows how we can still nonetheless use the smartphone sensibly—and even why we should in fact use it.
 

PLEASE NOTE 

Mouth-nose protection (mnp) must be worn at all times when visiting the museum. This therefore also applies for the duration of the book presentation.
 
Free admission to the event with your MAK-Ticket
Tuesdays 6–9 p.m. admission only € 6
 
CANCELLED | How can museums contribute to creating new forms of education?
EDUCATING CHANGE - Discussion series within the framework of the MAK FUTURE LAB

CANCELLED | How can museums contribute to creating new forms of education?

iCalTue, 19.05.2020 7.00 pm

MAK – Museum of Applied Arts

CANCELLED | What must education achieve in the age of climate change?
EDUCATING CHANGE - Discussion series within the framework of the MAK FUTURE LAB

CANCELLED | What must education achieve in the age of climate change?

iCalTue, 21.04.2020 7.00 pm

MAK – Museum of Applied Arts

What must digital education be able to achieve today?
EDUCATING CHANGE - Discussion series within the framework of the MAK FUTURE LAB

What must digital education be able to achieve today?

iCalTue, 11.02.2020 7.00 pm

MAK – Museum of Applied Arts

URBAN FOOD - FISH BOWL DISKUSSION "FUTURE FOOD"
MAK FUTURE LAB

URBAN FOOD - FISH BOWL DISKUSSION "FUTURE FOOD"

iCalWed, 11.12.2019 10.00 am

MAK – Museum of Applied Arts

AI Symposium: UNCANNY VALUES

AI Symposium: UNCANNY VALUES

iCalTue, 24.09.2019 6.00 pm 10.00 pm

MAK – Museum of Applied Arts

Designing the Self
MAK FUTURE LAB / VIENNA BIENNALE TALK

Designing the Self

iCalTue, 17.09.2019 7.00 pm

MAK – Museum of Applied Arts

Das MAK FUTURE LAB ist ein vom MAK gegründetes Kreativlabor, das durch Workshops, Vorträge, Podiumsgespräche und andere Formate interdisziplinäre Beiträge zur humanen Gestaltung und Nutzung der Digitalen Moderne erarbeitet. Es positioniert Design, Architektur und bildende Kunst als treibende Kräfte von sozial, ökologisch, kulturell und wirtschaftlich nachhaltigen Marktwirtschaftsmodellen und vernetzt diese Kreativsparten – im Rahmen vielfältiger Kooperationen – mit Wissenschaft, Forschung, Wirtschaft und Politik. Das MAK FUTURE LAB hat den Anspruch, sowohl ganzheitliche Orientierungen und davon inspirierte Gemeinwohlstrategien als auch konkrete innovative Geschäftsideen für die Zukunft zu entwickeln.

Adrien Missika
MAK FUTURE LAB

Adrien Missika

UNKRAUTPFLEGE
iCalDi, 29.06.2021 18:30 Uhr

MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst

Adrien Missika
Keynote und kollektive Aktion von und mit Adrien Missika

Bring your own Gießkanne!

MAK-Vortragssaal und Wotruba Promenade 

Mit “Unkrautpflege” begann der Künstler Adrien Missika 2018 eine mittlerweile dreiteilige Arbeit, die unsere Aufmerksamkeit auf die spontane, in der urbanen Landschaft übersehene Vegetation lenkt und unsere Wahrnehmung der Artenvielfalt in der Stadt schärft. 
 
Nimm eine Gießkanne (oder ähnliches)
Fülle sie mit Wasser
Gehe hinaus auf die Straße
Gehe einen Weg entlang
Gieße alle durstigen Unkräuter
Fülle Wasser nach, wo immer du kannst
Mach weiter, bis du müde oder hungrig bist.
 
Mit dieser einfachen Handlungsanweisung liefert Missika einen künstlerischen Ansatz zum Klimaschutz und zugleich einen Aufruf an jede*n von uns, selbst aktiv zu werden.
Nach einer Keynote über seine künstlerische Praxis im MAK Vortragssaal sind alle Besucher*innen eingeladen, den unbeachteten Pflanzen entlang der Gehsteige und Hausfassaden ihre volle Aufmerksamkeit zu schenken und ihre Erlebnisse unter #unkrautpflege auf sozialen Medien zu teilen. Der Startpunkt ist die Wotrubapromenade an der Stubenbrücke direkt hinter dem MAK.
 
Die Videodokumentation von Unkrautpflege (2018–fortlaufend; Aktion, 2018 vom Künstler in Berlin uraufgeführt, 4K-Farbvideo, Sound, 7:06 Min.) sowie die darauf folgenden Aktionen Cura (2019–fortlaufend; Aktion, 2019 vom Künstler in Mexico City, Mexiko, uraufgeführt; HD-Video, Sound, 5:56 Min.) und Pioneer’s Treat (2020–fortlaufend; Aktion, 2020 vom Künstler in Lissabon, Portugal, uraufgeführt, 4K-Farbvideo, Sound, 7:22 Min. Courtesy Galeria Francisco Fino, Lisbon, & Proyectos Monclova, Mexico City) sind als dreiteilige Installation im Rahmen der VIENNA BIENNALE-Ausstellung „CLIMATE CARE. Stellen wir uns vor unser Planet hat Zukunft“ in der MAK-Ausstellungshalle zu sehen. 

DIGITAL & CIRCULAR: KREISLAUFGESELLSCHAFT LERNEN UND LEBEN
MAK FUTURE LAB

DIGITAL & CIRCULAR: KREISLAUFGESELLSCHAFT LERNEN UND LEBEN

iCalDi, 22.06.2021 19:00 Uhr

MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst

DIGITAL & CIRCULAR: KREISLAUFGESELLSCHAFT LERNEN UND LEBEN
Podiumsdiskussion im MAK-Vortragssaal
Anmeldung erforderlich, Eintritt frei 
Für den Zutritt ist die 3G-Regel einzuhalten:
Geimpft, Getestet, Genesen.

Während des gesamten Museumsbesuchs ist verpflichtend eine FFP2-Maske zu tragen und ein Abstand von einem Meter zwischen Personen, die nicht in einem Haushalt leben, einzuhalten.
Eingang: Weiskirchnerstraße 3 (gegenüber Stadtpark) 

Teilnahme von zu Hause aus: Hier geht es zum Live-Stream (verfügbar ab 22.6., für den Live-Stream ist keine Anmeldung erforderlich) 


Vor dem Hintergrund der Ausstellung DIGITAL & CIRCULAR organisiert das MAK ein MAK FUTURE LAB, bei dem Ansätze für eine digital unterstützte Transformation zur Kreislaufgesellschaft erörtert werden. Ein hochkarätiges Panel diskutiert u. a. folgende Fragen: Welche vorrangigen systemischen Änderungen braucht es für die Kreislaufgesellschaft? Wie können wir vermeiden, dass die Große Transformation von Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft zu einer enormen zusätzlichen Materialanhäufung führt? In welchen Bereichen wäre die Kreislaufwirtschaft besonders wichtig? Was wären die dringlichsten drei digitalen Innovationen, um biologischen und technischen Kreisläufen einen zentralen Stellenwert zu verschaffen? Wie können wir mithilfe digitaler Innovationen den Übergang von gläsernen Konsument*innen zu transparenten kreislauforientierten Unternehmen beschleunigen? Wie können wir als Gesellschaft Kreislaufdenken am besten und schnellsten erlernen? Wie können wir Kreislaufgesellschaft im Alltag leben und wie sollten Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstellen gestaltet sein, um digitale Innovationskraft optimal dafür zu nützen?
 
Verena Fuchsberger-Staufer (Universität Salzburg)
Martin Grödl (Process – Studio for Art and Design)
Helmut Haberl (BOKU Wien)
Lotte Kristoferitsch (EOOS NEXT)
Christian Schienerl (Schienerl Design / Art Direction)
Michael Strugl (Verbund)
 
Moderation: Christoph Thun-Hohenstein (MAK)
 

Förderer

Logo BMK


Kooperationspartner

Logo VerbundLogo Wienerberger

ABGESAGT | AI Ethics
MAK FUTURE LAB

ABGESAGT | AI Ethics

Buchpräsentation und Gespräch mit dem Technikphilosophen Mark Coeckelbergh
iCalDi, 03.11.2020 19:00 Uhr

MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst

ABGESAGT | AI Ethics
Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) treibt die Suchmaschine von Google an, ermöglicht Facebook, Werbung gezielt zu platzieren, und erlaubt Alexa und Siri, ihre Arbeit zu erledigen. KI steht auch hinter selbstfahrenden Autos, vorausschauender Polizeiarbeit und autonomen Waffen, die ohne menschliches Eingreifen töten können. Diese und andere KI-Anwendungen werfen komplexe ethische Fragen auf, die Gegenstand laufender Debatten sind. 
 
Mit seinem Buch AI Ethics (erschienen 2020 in der Reihe MIT Press Essential Knowledge) bietet der Technikphilosoph Mark Coeckelbergh eine zugängliche Synthese dieser Fragen. In seiner Betrachtung von KI-Ethik geht er über die üblichen Hype- und Albtraumszenarien hinaus und konzentriert sich auf maschinelles Lernen und Datenwissenschaft.  
 
Coeckelbergh gibt einen Überblick über wichtige ethische Fragen wie Datenschutzbedenken, Verantwortung, das Delegieren von Entscheidungsfindung, Transparenz sowie Voreingenommenheit, die in allen Phasen von datenwissenschaftlichen Prozessen auftritt. Er betrachtet auch die Zukunft der Arbeit in einer KI-getriebenen Wirtschaft. Mit einer Analyse von aktuellen KI-Anwendungen in der Politik erörtert er die Herausforderungen für politische Entscheidungsträger. Er plädiert für ethische Praktiken, die Werte bereits im Design verankern und eine demokratische Vision des „guten Lebens“ in einer fairen Gesellschaft beinhalten.
 
Im MAK FUTURE Lab stellt Coeckelbergh seine wichtigsten Thesen vor und diskutiert zusammen mit dem Publikum über KI und Ethik, sowie die Potenziale von KI im Zusammengang mit globalen Krisen und dem Klimawandel.

Moderation: Marlies Wirth
Die Veranstaltung findet auf Englisch statt.
 
___

 
Mark Coeckelbergh ist Vizedekan und ordentlicher Professor für Medien- und Technikphilosophie an der Philosophischen Fakultät der Universität Wien. Derzeit ist er Mitglied verschiedener Gremien, die die Politikgestaltung im Bereich der Robotik und Künstlichen Intelligenz unterstützen, wie z. B. der Hochrangigen Expertengruppe für Künstliche Intelligenz der Europäischen Kommission und des Österreichischen Rates für Robotik und Künstliche Intelligenz. 
 
Smartphone – der Spion in meiner Tasche?
MAK FUTURE LAB

Smartphone – der Spion in meiner Tasche?

Buchpräsentation und Fishbowl-Diskussion mit Helmut Spudich
iCalDi, 15.09.2020 19:30 Uhr21:00 Uhr

MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst

Smartphone – der Spion in meiner Tasche?
Das Smartphone könnte jene „Prothese“ sein, die am meisten dazu beigetragen hat, den Menschen zu verändern. Der intelligente Mini-Computer ist unser ständiger Begleiter – und weiß alles über uns: Aufenthaltsort, Kontakte, Fotos, Screen-Time, Schritte, Passwörter, Vorlieben, Konsumwünsche, Fingerabdrücke und unsere biometrischen Daten. 
 
Das Thema „Corona-App“ und Contact-Tracing ist in aller Munde, ebens0 die beliebte App TikTok, die westliche Version der chinesischen App Douyin, die in den USA sogar verboten werden könnte. Verbunden mit Gesichtserkennung und künstlicher Intelligenz wird aus der Selbstdarstellung in Kurzvideos ein mächtiges Überwachungstool. Haben wir überhaupt noch eine „Privatsphäre“ und was passiert eigentlich mit unseren Daten?
 
Wir diskutieren gemeinsam mit dem Publikum und Autor Helmut Spudich über das Smartphone und seine Folgen für die Überwachungsgesellschaft.
 
Der frühere Kommunikationschef des Telekommunikationsunternehmens Magenta Telekom (ehemals T-Mobile) Spudich stellt in seinem Buch Der Spion in meiner Tasche. Was das Handy mit uns macht und wie wir es trotzdem benutzen können (edition a, 2020) das Thema Überwachung mit verblüffenden Insider-Informationen und sorgfältigen Recherchen zur Diskussion und zeigt auf, wie wir das Smartphone trotzdem sinnvoll verwenden können – und warum wir es sogar verwenden sollten.

BITTE BEACHTEN 

Während des gesamten Museumsbesuchs ist verpflichtend ein Mund-Nasen-Schutz (MNS) zu tragen. Dies gilt daher auch für die Dauer der Buchpräsentation.
 
Freier Eintritt zur Veranstaltung mit MAK-Ticket
Jeden Dienstag 18:00–21:00 Uhr Eintritt nur € 6
 
 
ABGESAGT | Was können Museen zu neuer Bildung beitragen?
VERÄNDERUNG LERNEN - Diskussionsreihe im Rahmen des MAK FUTURE LAB

ABGESAGT | Was können Museen zu neuer Bildung beitragen?

iCalDi, 19.05.2020 19:00 Uhr

MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst

ABGESAGT | Was muss Bildung in Zeiten des Klimawandels leisten?
VERÄNDERUNG LERNEN - Diskussionsreihe im Rahmen des MAK FUTURE LAB

ABGESAGT | Was muss Bildung in Zeiten des Klimawandels leisten?

iCalDi, 21.04.2020 19:00 Uhr

MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst

Was muss digitale Bildung heute können?
VERÄNDERUNG LERNEN - Diskussionsreihe im Rahmen des MAK FUTURE LAB

Was muss digitale Bildung heute können?

iCalDi, 11.02.2020 19:00 Uhr

MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst

URBAN FOOD - FISH BOWL DISKUSSION "FUTURE FOOD"
MAK FUTURE LAB

URBAN FOOD - FISH BOWL DISKUSSION "FUTURE FOOD"

iCalMi, 11.12.2019 10:00 Uhr

MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst

AI Symposium: UNCANNY VALUES

AI Symposium: UNCANNY VALUES

iCalDi, 24.09.2019 18:00 Uhr22:00 Uhr

MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst

Designing the Self
MAK FUTURE LAB / VIENNA BIENNALE TALK

Designing the Self

iCalDi, 17.09.2019 19:00 Uhr

MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst