Closed on Mondays
VisitTicketsCalendarClosed on Mondays

Tue 10 am–9 pm
Wed to Sun 10 am–6 pm
Mon closed

The MAK

In a way that is virtually unparalleled by any other institution, the MAK – Museum of Applied Arts stands for the fruitful combination of the past with the future, something which can be clearly sensed and experienced when visiting its extensive collection, large exhibition halls, themed special exhibitions and discourse-centered program of events. Bringing together applied arts, design, architecture, and contemporary art is one of the museum’s core competencies.
As the first museum on the Ringstraße, the MAK assumed a very special role. Right now, you might be standing in the Columned Main Hall of this building by architect Heinrich von Ferstel, completed in 1871. The MAK had already been founded eight years before, in 1863, by Rudolf von Eitelberger, the first professor of art history in Vienna. Until the completion of the building in the style of Italian Early Renaissance on the Ringstraß in 1871, the so-called Ballhaus on the Ballhausplatz served as a provisional location. As nobody today will deny, the model for the museum was the great Victoria & Albert Museum in London that had been founded eleven years before as the South Kensington Museum.
More about the history
The MAK is committed to sustainability and, to the best of its ability, strives to make an effective contribution to overcoming the global crisis threatening our climate and ecology. We wish to communicate this commitment to both our staff members and our partners-and especially to you, our Austrian and international visitors-both in the museum itself and online. The MAK has set itself the goal of being climate-neutral by 2030.
 
We have taken a significant step in this direction through our acquisition of the Austrian Ecolabel-the independent seal of approval with which not only business enterprises but also cultural institutions pledge themselves to quality and environmental protection.

The MAK is centrally located and is easily reached on foot, by bike, or by public transport. In the immediate vicinity you will find a number of different public transport stops. In addition, there are plenty of bike stands by the entrance to the MAK. And in an emergency, our porter can help you out with a bicycle repair kit.
More about the Green Museum
Österreichisches Umweltzeichen, Green Museum

MAK – Museum of Applied Arts, Vienna

The MAK is centrally located and is easily reached on foot, by bike, or by public transport.

MAK Geymüllerschlössel, Vienna

At the MAK Branch Geymüllerschlössel, a jewel of Biedermeier architecture in Vienna’s Pötzleinsdorf neighborhood, the MAK shows furniture from the Empire and Biedermeier periods, old Viennese clocks from the collection of Franz Sobek, and interventions by contemporary artists and designers. Open from May to December. 

MAK Tower, Vienna

The MAK Tower is closed to the public due to a lack of official approval. We apologize for any inconvenience.
 

MAK Center, Los Angeles

The MAK Center for Art and Architecture in Los Angeles is a contemporary, experimental, multi-disciplinary center for art and architecture and is based today in three of the most important houses by the Austrian-American architect Rudolph M. Schindler.

Josef Hoffmann Museum, Brtnice

Since 2005, the house in Brtnice, Czech Republic where Josef Hoffmann was born has been playing host to temporary exhibitions featuring themes related to Hoffman and his circle with the aim of keeping the life and work of this pioneering Austrian architect alive in the public consciousness.
The MAK is also present in the public sphere, leaving its visible mark on the city’s urban order. Directly in front of the Stubenring building is the Tor zum Ring [Gate to the Ring] constructed by James Wines/SITE in 1992, which physically shifts a piece of the building's outer wall into the urban space, leaving behind a new point of access to the museum. A counterpart to this is Walter Pichler’s artistic and architectural intervention Tor zum Garten [Gate to the Garden] (1990), which opens the museum to its garden on the other side. Also in the MAK Garden is the MAK Terrace Plateau, constructed between 1991 and 1993 after a design by Peter Noever; it is oriented toward the Wien River and provides the museum with a further architectonic axis. Stylit by Michael Kienzer, located at the intersection Stubenring / Weiskirchnerstraße, was created in 2004: On the end of a several meter long rod or pipe, which grows out of a pot-like pedestal, he mounts a well pump which, unreachable for pedestrians passing by, sits at the height of the treetops and street lights.
 
James Turrell’s light sculpture MAKlite causes intense, variously colored light to pulse in the windows of the MAK, thus communicating the complex situations generated within the museum to the urban environment outside. Permanently installed since 2004, this installation releases the building’s brick façade from its urban uniformity.
 
Somewhat further afield, at the intersection of Franz-Josefs-Kai and Schottenring, one sees the Wiener Trio by Philip Johnson, conceived for the exhibition Turning Point (1996). The Stadtpark, one of the city’s green oases, lies just adjacent to the MAK and beckons refreshingly to museum visitors. The park has played host to Donald Judd’s sculpture Stage Set since 1996; this public artwork, as well, was created specifically for an exhibition at the MAK.
More about the MAK in public space
Lilli Hollein
General Director and Artistic Director
T +43 1 71136-200
direktion@MAK.at
Teresa Mitterlehner-Marchesani
Managing Director
T +43 1 71136-201
direktion@MAK.at
Martina Kandeler-Fritsch
Deputy Artistic Director
T +43 1 71136-209
martina.kandeler-fritsch@MAK.at
Directors' Office
office@MAK.at
T +43 1 71136-200
Marietheres Potucek
Assistant to the General Director
T +43 1 71136-206
marietheres.potucek@MAK.at


Theresa Wieder
Assistant to the Managing Director
T +43 171136-204
theresa.wieder@MAK.at


Antje Prisker
Executive Assistant to the General Director, Special Projects
T +43 171136-202
antje.prisker@MAK.at
Katharina Egghart
Executive Assistant to the Managing Director, Sustainability Manager
T +43 1 71136-205
katharina.egghart@MAK.at
Exhibition
Management

exhib@MAK.at
Mario Kojetinksy
Head
T +43 1 71136-237
mario.kojetinsky@MAK.at
Karoline Brand
T +43 1 71136-225
karoline.brand@MAK.at
Aleksandra Drozdowska
T +43 1 71136-274
aleksandra.drozdowska@MAK.at
Alena Volk
T +43 1 71136-226
M +43 699 17113226
alena.volk@MAK.at
Rudolf Forstinger
T +43 1 71136-216
ateam@MAK.at
Guido Kraus
T +43 1 71136-216
ateam@MAK.at
Markus Schlüter
T +43 1 71136-216
ateam@MAK.at
Library and Reading Room
library@MAK.at
T +43 1 71136-259
Kathrin Pokorny-Nagel
Head
T +43 1 71136-250
kathrin.pokorny-nagel@MAK.at
Peter Klinger
Deputy Head
T +43 1 71136-254
peter.klinger@MAK.at
Monika Angelberger
T +43 1 71136-257
monika.angelberger@MAK.at
Julia Grohmann
T +43 1 71136-257
julia.grohmann@MAK.at
Helga Kefeder-Skvarics
T +43 1 71136-318
elga.kefeder-skvarics@MAK.at
Aline Müller
T +43 1 71136-318
aline.mueller@MAK.at
Fernanda Romero-Velasquez
T +43 1 71136-272
fernanda.romerovelasquez@MAK.at
Stefan Scherhaufer
T +43 1 71136-257
stefan.scherhaufer@MAK.at
Johannes Schweitzer-Wünsch
T +43 1 71136-272
johannes.schweitzer-wuensch@MAK.at
Digital MAK
Christian Michlits
Head
T +43 1 71136-223
christian.michlits@MAK.at

Myrdith Eerland
Administration
T +43 1 71136-452
myrdith.eerland@MAK.at
Julia Santa-Reuckl
Administration
T +43 1 71136-451
julia.santa-reuckl@MAK.at


Reproductions, Photography
Thomas Matyk
Head Reproductions, Photography
T +43 1 71136-294
thomas.matyk@MAK.at
Georg Mayer
Head Photo Documentation
T +43 1 71136-215
georg.mayer@MAK.at
Kristina Wissik
Photographer
T +43 1 71136-243
kristina.wissik@MAK.at
IT
Claudio Hebein
Head
T +43 1 71136-277
claudio.hebein@MAK.at


Denis Jankovic
T +43 1 71136-299
denis.jankovic@MAK.at
Matthias Kalod
T +43 1 71136-288
matthias.kalod@MAK.at
Jochen Ladmann
T +43 1 71136-266
jochen.ladmann@MAK.at
Communications and Marketing

Olivia Harrer
Head
T +43 1 71136-346
olivia.harrer@MAK.at

Anna Adamek
T +43 1 71136-393
anna.adamek@MAK.at
Paul Wünsche
T +43 1 71136-244
paul.wuensche@MAK.at
Simone Reimitz
T +43 1 71136-231
simone.reimitz@MAK.at
Theresa Schnöll
T +43 1 71136-233
theresa.schnoell@MAK.at
Tourism
Helmut Lenhardt
T +43 1 71136-218
helmut.lenhardt@MAK.at
Eléonore Caseau
Head Events and Rentals
T +43 1 71136-320
eleonore.caseau@MAK.at
Arvinder Singh Gill
+43 699 17113290
arvinder.gill@MAK.at
Education and Outreach
T +43 1 71136-278
education@MAK.at
Janina Falkner
Head
T +43 1 71136-278
janina.falkner@MAK.at

Nargol Gharahshir
T +43 1 71136-224
nargol.gharahshir@MAK.at
Julia Krah
T +43 1 71136-224
julia.krah@MAK.at
Marie Nemeth


Laura Pirgie
T +43 1 71136-227
laura.pirgie@MAK.at
Laura Wagner
T +43 1 71136-227
laura.wagner@MAK.at
MAK Design Shop
T +43 1 71136-228
designshop@MAK.at

Mario Piskor
Head

Petra Colzada
Mia Angelina Fehlinger
Samina Molfetta
Gabriele Puchegger
Amber Sanchez Kenlok
Karina Uhl
Sophia-Magdalena Verbeek
Museum
Database 

museumsdatenbank@MAK.at

Myrdith Eerland
Administration
T +43 1 71136-452
myrdith.eerland@MAK.at
Julia Santa-Reuckl
Administration
T +43 1 71136-451
julia.santa-reuckl@MAK.at

Human Ressources
and Legal Affairs

Jasmin Sommerer
Head
T +43 1 71136-295
jasmin.sommerer@MAK.at
Angelika Strehn
Payroll Accounting
T +43 1 71136-285
angelika.strehn@MAK.at
Press and Public Relations, Sponsoring
presse@MAK.at
Judith Anna Schwarz-Jungmann
Head
T +43 1 71136-213
judith.schwarz-jungmann@MAK.at

Sandra Hell-Ghignone
T +43 1 71136-212
sandra.hell-ghignone@MAK.at
Ulrike Sedlmayr
T +43 1 71136-210
ulrike.sedlmayr@MAK.at
Provenance Research
and Restitution

Rainald Franz
Provenance Research Officer of the MAK
T +43 1 71136-220
rainald.franz@MAK.at
Leonhard Weidinger
Provenance Researcher on behalf of the Commission for Provenance Research at the Federal Chancellery
T +43 1 71136-249
leonhard.weidinger@MAK.at
Accounting and Controlling
buchhaltung@MAK.at
Christine Dechant
Head
T +43 1 71136-287
christine.dechant@MAK.at

Sabine Walther 
T +43 1 71136-284
sabine.walther@MAK.at
Nicole Slowak
T +43 1 71136-395
nicole.slowak@MAK.at
Registrar
Susanne Schneeweiss
Head
T +43 1 71136-238
susanne.schneeweiss@MAK.at
Conservation and Workshops
Anne Biber
Head
T +43 1 71136-260
anne.biber@MAK.at

Britta Dierig
T +43 1 71136-265
britta.dierig@MAK.at
Anita Gausterer-Diregger
T +43 1 71136-273
anita.diregger@MAK.at
Beate Murr
T +43 1 71136-262
beate.murr@MAK.at

Hannah Jäckel
hannah.jaeckel@MAK.at
Edith Oberhumer
T +43 1 71136-268
edith.oberhumer@MAK.at
Valerie Papeloux
T +43 1 71136-263
valerie.papeloux@MAK.at

Julia Peev
T +43 1 71136-268
julia.peev@MAK.at
Sophie Schneider
T +43 1 71136-273
sophie.schneider@MAK.at
Collection
Martina Kandeler-Fritsch
Deputy Artistic Director, Director Collection and Exhibitions

T +43 1 71136-209
martina.kandeler-fritsch@MAK.at
Library and Works on Paper Collection/Archive
Kathrin Pokorny-Nagel
Head
T +43 1 71136-250
kathrin.pokorny-nagel@MAK.at
Peter Klinger
Deputy Head
T +43 1 71136-254
peter.klinger@MAK.at
Monika Angelberger
T +43 1 71136-257
monika.angelberger@MAK.at

Hannah Gasperl
hannah.gasperl@MAK.at
Julia Grohmann
T +43 1 71136-257
julia.grohmann@MAK.at
Helga Kefeder-Skvarics
T +43 1 71136-318
helga.kefeder-skvarics@MAK.at

Helena Grünsteidl
Project Assistant EU project Art Nouveau 2
T +43 1 71136-459
helena.gruensteidl@MAK.at
Walther Merk
Archive
walther.merk@MAK.at
Aline Müller
T +43 1 71136-318
aline.mueller@MAK.at

Fernanda Romero-Velasquez
T +43 1 71136-272
fernanda.romerovelasquez@MAK.at
Stefan Scherhaufer
T +43 1 71136-257
stefan.scherhaufer@MAK.at
Johannes Schweitzer-Wünsch
T +43 1 71136-272
johannes.schweitzer-wuensch@MAK.at
Asia Collection
Mio Wakita-Elis
Curator
T +43 1 71136-235
mio.wakita@MAK.at
Sabine Petraschek
T +43 1 71136-241
sabine.petraschek@MAK.at
Design Collection
Marlies Wirth
Curator, Curator Digital Culture
T +43 1 71136-270
marlies.wirth@MAK.at
Felix Kofler
T +43 1 71136-221
felix.kofler@MAK.at
Contemporary Art Collection
Bärbel Vischer
Curator
T +43 1 71136-246
baerbel.vischer@MAK.at
Glass and Ceramics Collection
Rainald Franz
Curator
T +43 1 71136-220
rainald.franz@MAK.at
Harald Bauer
T +43 1 71136-240
harald.bauer@MAK.at
Lisa Nowy
T +43 1 71136-240
lisa.nowy@MAK.at
Metal Collection and Wiener Werkstätte Archive
Anne-Katrin Rossberg
Curator
T +43 1 71136-234
anne-katrin.rossberg@MAK.at
Michael Hölters
T +43 1 711 36-240
michael.hoelters@MAK.at
Maria-Luise Jesch
T +43 1 71136-317
maria-luise.jesch@MAK.at
Furniture and Woodwork Collection
Sebastian Hackenschmidt
Curator
T +43 1 71136-232
sebastian.hackenschmidt@MAK.at
Judith Huemer
T +43 1 71136-241
judith.huemer@MAK.at
Henriette Wiltschek
T +43 1 71136-241
henriette.wiltschek@MAK.at
Textiles and Carpets Collection
Lara Steinhäußer
Curator
T +43 1 71136-230
lara.steinhaeusser@MAK.at
Martina Dax
T +43 1 71136-267
martina.dax@MAK.at
Branislav Djordjevic
T +43 1 71136-267
branislav.djordjevic@MAK.at

Claudia Marchtrenker
T +43 1 71136-304
claudia.marchtrenker@MAK.at
Cross-Collection Coordination and EU-Projects
Rainald Franz
T +43 1 71136-220
rainald.franz@MAK.at
Eva Adam-Maxa
Assistenz EU-Projekte
T +43 1 71136-297
eva.adam-maxa@MAK.at
Security and Facility Management
Gundi Eßlinger
Head
T +43 1 71136-211
gundi.esslinger@MAK.at

Alfred Bochno
Technician
T +43 1 71136-310
alfred.bochno@MAK.at
Petra Condlova
Project Management Facility Management
T +43 1 71136-280
petra.condlova@MAK.at
Roman Gazo
Building Services
T +43 1 71136-315

Robert Ghetau
Electrician
T +43 1 71136-316
Andreas Jansky
Electrician
T +43 1 71136-315
Herbert Januj
Security Officer
T +43 1 71136-319
herbert.januj@MAK.at

Peter Tampier
Security Officer
T +43 1 71136-319
peter.tampier@MAK.at
Andreas Leschinsky
Building Services
T + 43 1 71136-314
peter.tampier@MAK.at
Thomas Thiesz
MAK Tower
T +43 699 17113241
thomas.thiesz@MAK.at
Text- and Publication
management
Astrid Böhacker
Text and Publication Management
T +43 1 71136-269
astrid.boehacker@MAK.at
Cornelia Malli
Copy Editor
T +43 1 71136-322
cornelia.malli@MAK.at
Visitor Service
Franz Unger
Head
T +43 1 71136-282
franz.unger@MAK.at
Ticket Desk
T +43 1 71136-248
Akiko Fujishima
Franz Schremser
Supervisors
T +43 1 711 36-300
Kajetan Ehrenhöfer
Karim Paierl
Abdullah Gilli
Hemin Latif
Attendants/Concierge
T +43 1 71136-300
Paul Bögle
Attendant

Rudolf Prokesch
Day Concierge

Harald Widler
Day Concierge

Petra Wiesner
Day Concierge
Erich Gabler
Night Concierge

Gracian Kaminski
Day Concierge

Franz Putz
Night-/Day Concierge
Umar Hoy
Attendant

Christian Lisy
Attendant

Serif Özsoy
Night Concierge
Works Council
Judith Huemer
Chair

Beate Murr
Vice Chair

Kajetan Ehrenhöfer
Aline Müller
Alfred Bochno

MAK Art Society
Michaela Hartig
Executive Officer
T +43 1 71136-206
makartsociety@MAK.at
MAK Supervisory Board
Astrid Gilhofer
Chair

Elisabeth Gürtler
Vice Chair
Claudia Oetker, Art Collector, Frankfurt/Vienna
Barbara Glück, Director Mauthausen Memorial
Martin Böhm, Dorotheum GmbH & Co KG
Alfred Grinschgl, Federal Ministry of Finance
Alexander Palma, Federal Ministry for Digital and Economic Affairs
Otto Aiglsperger, Union of Public Services
Beate Murr, MAK
Currently there are no positions available.