In 2024, the MAK Forum will be the setting for cinematic works by contemporary artists.
1.4.2024—20.10.2024
MAK Forum
Films by Nilbar Güreş (Soyunma / Undressing, 2006), Marko Lulić (The Moderns (Vienna), 2005), and Amie Siegel (Provenance, 2013) provide an insight into complex, interwoven stories that define our world.

Curator: Bärbel Vischer, Curator, MAK Contemporary Art Collection
1.4.–2.6.2024
Nilbar Güreş
Soyunma / Ausziehen [Undressing], 2006
Video, 6:19 Min.

In a performance, Nilbar Güreş removes the various fabrics she has wrapped around her head layer by layer. She at the same time recites the names of women with whom she has lived together. In this way she incorporates her own biography into the discourse revolving around the ambivalent theme of the veiling of women, also addressing Islamophobia and the politically instrumentalized veiling targeted at Muslim women.

4.6.–4.8.2024
Marko Lulić
The Moderns (Vienna), 2005
Video, 4:29 Min.

In his video The Moderns (Vienna), Marko Lulić creates a new  urban image of Vienna by focusing on the buildings of the post-war modernist era and excluding all historical buildings, including  architectural icons by Otto Wagner and Adolf Loos. With collage- like images, he traces a fictitious utopian urban structure,  
thus challenging our understanding of the present.

Supported by the MAK and the association Stadtimpuls

6.8.–29.9.2024
Amie Siegel
Provenance, 2013 Video, 40:30 Min.

In her ensemble work Provenance, Amie Siegel shines a light on the sociology of modernist design by means of examples drawn from Swiss architect Pierre Jeanneret’s furniture designs for the Le Corbusier buildings in Chandigarh, a controversial modernist city in India. The film installation traces these furniture pieces in reverse chronology as they journey from private homes through warehouses, auctions, restorations, and a container ship before arriving back at their point of origin.

Acquired with the generous support of Phileas

Das MAK Forum wird im Jahr 2024 zum Schauplatz für filmische Arbeiten von zeitgenössischen Künstler*innen.
1.4.2024—20.10.2024
MAK Forum
Filme von Nilbar Güreş (Soyunma / Ausziehen, 2006), Marko Lulić (The Moderns (Vienna), 2005) und Amie Siegel (Provenance, 2013) ermöglichen einen Einblick in komplexe, ineinander verwobene Geschichten, die unsere moderne Welt definieren.

Kuratorin: Bärbel Vischer, Kustodin MAK Sammlung Gegenwartskunst
1.4.–2.6.2024
Nilbar Güreş
Soyunma / Ausziehen [Undressing], 2006
Video, 6:19 Min.

In einer Performance entledigt sich Nilbar Güreş Schicht um Schicht von etlichen Stoffen, die sie um ihren Kopf gewickelt hat. Gleichzeitig rezitiert sie die Namen von Frauen, mit denen sie zusammenlebte. Damit bringt sie ihre eigene Biografie in den Diskurs über das ambivalente Thema der Verhüllung von Frauen ein und spricht auch Islamophobie und die politisch instrumentalisierte Verhüllung an, die sich gegen muslimische Frauen richtet.

4.6.–4.8.2024
Marko Lulić
The Moderns (Vienna), 2005
Video, 4:29 Min.

In seinem Video The Moderns (Vienna) schafft Marko Lulić ein neues Stadtbild von Wien, indem er auf die Bauten der Nachkriegsmoderne fokussiert und alle historischen Bauten, darunter auch  Architekturikonen von Otto Wagner oder Adolf Loos, ausblendet. Mit collageartigen Bildern zeichnet er ein fiktives utopisches Stadtgefüge und testet damit unser Verständnis von Gegenwart.

Unterstützt durch das MAK und den Verein Stadtimpuls

6.8.–29.9.2024
Amie Siegel
Provenance, 2013 Video, 40:30 Min.

In ihrer mehrteiligen Arbeit Provenance beleuchtet Amie Siegel  die Soziologie modernistischen Designs am Beispiel der Möbel,  die der Schweizer Architekt Pierre Jeanneret für die Gebäude von Le Corbusier in Chandigarh, einer kontroversiellen modernistischen Stadt in Indien, entwarf. Das Video zeichnet die Reise dieser Möbel an ihren ursprünglichen Bestimmungsort in umgekehrter Reihenfolge nach, von Privatwohnungen über Warenhäuser und Auktionen bis hin zu Restaurierungen und einem Schiffstransport.

Erworben mit der großzügigen Unterstützung von Phileas