Closed on Mondays
VisitTicketsCalendar

Tue 10 am–9 pm
Wed to Sun 10 am–6 pm
Mon closed
HARD/SOFT: Textiles and Ceramics in Contemporary Art brings together two seemingly contrasting materials.
13.12.2023—20.5.2024
Lower Exhibition Hall
While textiles are associated with warmth and flexibility, ceramics formed from soft clay radiate a cool fragility. Yet both media bring to life an aesthetic language that shifts between hard, soft, unwieldy, and flowing. The materials, shapes, and significance of the selected works reveal a broad spectrum of ambiguity, vagueness, and simultaneity.

The exhibition showcases the work of around 40 artists from Austria and all over the globe, whose artistic practice draws on craft techniques such as embroidery, knotting, and weaving, as well as sculpting, wedging, and firing. The sculptures, installations, and painted works, which also include embroidered images, patchworks, and tapestries, show a vast range of artistic and interdisciplinary approaches that combine visual and applied arts, architecture, music, and digital space. These pieces offer an insight into production methods, ateliers, and workshops, as well as cross-disciplinary collaboration. Here textiles and ceramics hold cultural significance for communities; they have become intertwined with economic and political systems. Alongside the materials’ characteristic features, the exhibition considers feminist ideas, explorations of the body, questions of cultural appropriation as well as gender stereotyping.

ARTISTS
Magdalena Abakanowicz, Hildegard Absalon, El Anatsui, Anna Andreeva, Ranti Bam, Maria Biljan-Bilger, Cosima von Bonin, Geta Brătescu, Agnieszka Brzeżańska, Verena Dengler, Noa Eshkol, Gelatin, Sonia Gomes, Nilbar Güreş, Sheila Hicks, Klára Hosnedlová, Dorota Jurczak, Kapwani Kiwanga, Peter Kogler, Beate Kuhn, Denisa Lehocká, Goshka Macuga, Jonathan Meese, Hana Miletić, Małgorzata Mirga-Tas, Robert Morris, Ann Muller, Ulrike Müller, Michèle Pagel, Lucie Rie, Willem de Rooij, Camila Sposati, Laurence Sturla, Dorothea Tanning, Rosemarie Trockel, Franz Erhard Walther, Ingrid Wiener.
 
CURATORS
Bärbel Vischer, Kustodin MAK Sammlung Gegenwartskunst
Curator, MAK Contemporary Art Collection
Antje Prisker, Special Projects
 
EXHIBITION DESIGN
Andrea Lenardin Madden / a l m project
 
GRAPHIC DESIGN
Atelier Dreibholz
 
 
PROGRAM
The exhibition will be accompanied by an extensive program of talks and events. Workshops for children and adults offer visitors the chance to work side by side with artists and learn about the textile and ceramic techniques used in a range of artistic approaches. We embroider out of protest, dabble in soft sculpture, and experiment with clay as a co-creative medium. In a series of talks, we look at how textiles and ceramics can be used to explore socio-political themes and will be organizing discussions with some of the contemporary artists featured in this exhibition. Curator-guided visits, dialogue tours as well as our regular exhibition tours offer unique insight into the works on display.

Calendar

MAK – Museum of Applied Arts
Textiles and Ceramics in Contemporary Art (in German)
MAK – Museum of Applied Arts
with Bärbel Vischer and Antje Prisker
MAK – Museum of Applied Arts

Die Ausstellung HARD/SOFT. Textil und Keramik in der zeitgenössischen Kunst bringt zwei scheinbar gegensätzliche Materialien zusammen.
13.12.2023—20.5.2024
Untere Ausstellungshalle
Während Textil mit Wärme und Flexibilität assoziiert wird, strahlt die aus weichem Ton oder Lehm geformte Keramik eine kühle Zerbrechlichkeit aus. Und doch zeichnen sich beide Medien durch eine erlebbare Formensprache aus, die zwischen hart, weich, sperrig und fließend changiert. Die Materialien, Formen und Bedeutungen der ausgewählten Objekte eröffnen ein breites Spektrum von Ambivalenzen, Unschärfen und Gleichzeitigkeiten.

Zu sehen sind Arbeiten von rund 40 österreichischen und internationalen Künstler*innen, die in ihrer künstlerischen Praxis auf handwerkliche Techniken wie Sticken, Knüpfen und Weben oder Formen, Kneten und Brennen zurückgreifen. Die Skulpturen, Installationen und malerischen Arbeiten, zu denen auch Stickbilder, Patchworks und Tapisserien zählen, zeigen vielfältige künstlerische Ansätze und Schnittstellen zwischen bildender und angewandter Kunst, Architektur, Musik und dem digitalen Raum. Sie eröffnen Einblicke in Produktionsweisen, Ateliers, Werkstätten und Prozesse der disziplinenübergreifenden Zusammenarbeit. Textil und Keramik vermitteln sich hier als kulturelle Träger von Gemeinschaften; sie sind in ökonomische und politische Systeme eingeschrieben. Neben Materialeigenschaften werden insbesondere feministische Anliegen, die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Körper, Fragen der kulturellen Aneignung sowie Geschlechterzuschreibungen zur Diskussion gestellt.

KÜNSTLER*INNEN
Magdalena Abakanowicz, Hildegard Absalon, El Anatsui, Anna Andreeva, Ranti Bam, Maria Biljan-Bilger, Cosima von Bonin, Geta Brătescu, Agnieszka Brzeżańska, Verena Dengler, Noa Eshkol, Gelatin, Sonia Gomes, Nilbar Güreş, Sheila Hicks, Klára Hosnedlová, Dorota Jurczak, Kapwani Kiwanga, Peter Kogler, Beate Kuhn, Denisa Lehocká, Goshka Macuga, Jonathan Meese, Hana Miletić, Małgorzata Mirga-Tas, Robert Morris, Ann Muller, Ulrike Müller, Michèle Pagel, Lucie Rie, Willem de Rooij, Camila Sposati, Laurence Sturla, Dorothea Tanning, Rosemarie Trockel, Franz Erhard Walther, Ingrid Wiener.

KURATORINNEN
Bärbel Vischer, Kustodin MAK Sammlung Gegenwartskunst
Antje Prisker, Special Projects

AUSSTELLUNGSGESTALTUNG
Andrea Lenardin Madden / a l m project

GRAFISCHE GESTALTUNG
Atelier Dreibholz

PROGRAMM
Die Ausstellung wird begleitet von einem umfangreichen Rahmen- und Diskursprogramm. Workshops für Kinder und Erwachsene bieten die Möglichkeit, mit Künstler*innen zusammenzuarbeiten und Techniken rund um Textil und Keramik aus unterschiedlichen künstlerischen Ansätzen heraus zu begreifen. – Wir sticken zum Protest, versuchen uns in Soft Sculptures oder experimentieren mit Ton als ko-kreativem Medium. In Diskursveranstaltungen greifen wir Textil und Keramik als Träger gesellschaftspolitischer Themen auf und laden zu Gesprächen mit zeitgenössischen Künstler*innen, die in der Ausstellung vertreten sind. Kurator*innenführungen, Dialogführungen sowie unser regelmäßiges Führungsprogramm bieten besondere Einblicke in die Ausstellung.

Kalender

mit der Künstlerin Noushin Redjaian
MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst
MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst
MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst